



ತಿಲಂಗಾಣ ರಾಜ పత్రము

THE TELANGANA GAZETTE

PART-V EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 09]

HYDERABAD, MONDAY, JULY 6, 2020.

STATUTORY NOTIFICATIONS OF THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA AND OTHER ELECTION NOTIFICATIONS

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TELANGANA

BYE - ELECTIONS TO THE TELANGANA STATE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL FROM NIZAMABAD LOCAL AUTHORITIES CONSTITUENCY - PROCESS OF ELECTION SHALL BE INITIATED AT A LATER DATE - AMENDMENT NOTIFICATION.

[Memo.No.251/Elecs.D/2020-64, Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Telangana, Dated: 6th July, 2020]

The following notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi – 110001, Dated: 06th July, 2020 / 15 Ashadha, 1942 (Saka) is published:-

NOTIFICATION

No. 100/TL-LC/08/2019-LAC: - WHEREAS, the Commission, vide its Notification No. 100/TL-LC/08/2019-LAC dated 22nd May, 2020, in exercise of its powers conferred under Article 324 of the Constitution of India read with section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, extended the period of election for the bye election to Telangana Legislative Council from Nizamabad Local Authorities' Constituency by 45 days from date of that notification.

Now, the Commission, after reviewing the matter in terms of the extant COVID-19 containment guidelines (issued by the Chairperson National Executive Committee under the Disaster Management Act, 2005 on 29.06.2020), in exercise of its powers conferred under Article 324 of the Constitution of India read with section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, hereby directs that the process of election to the above mentioned seat shall be initiated at a later date after reviewing the situation.

Now, therefore, in view of the above and in exercise of the powers conferred under article 324 of the Constitution read with section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Election Commission hereby makes amendment in its notification No. 100/TL-LC/08/2019-LAC, dated 12th March, 2020 to the extent that the date(s) for taking poll, counting of votes and date before which election shall be completed shall be announced in due course after reviewing the situation further. The list of contesting candidates, already published for the said election by the respective Returning Officer shall remain valid for the purposes of remaining activities, as prescribed under the said notification.

By order,

SUMAN KUMAR DAS, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Dr. SHASHANK GOEL, Chief Electoral Officer & E.O. Principal Secretary to Government.